Saviour?

So I was a little stupid. Well actually very stupid. I actually bought a second hand wedding dress quite a while ago. Yes it was smaller than I was but as I was losing weight and I thought it would not be too much of an issue. Unfortunately I took the word of the lady I bought it from that the dress was a certain size and that no alterations had been done to the dress. The lower part of the dress is indeed the right size however the top is actually three sizes smaller than it should be. How did I not notice? Well to be honest I did think it was small but  I just put it down to the fact I had been large for so long that I had lost touch with sizes. I did lose weight but nothing seemed to be working for the top part of my body. I kept trying on the dress and the bottom half was starting to fit, but I was still no where near on the top part of the dress. I was started to feel deflated and to be honest I lost motivation. I know that sounds odd but I just thought what is the point, I am never going to do it and feel foolish trying. Who was I trying to kid?

I then started to panic. Friends and wedding websites kept telling me to get something sorted as dress shops need at least 3 months to get your dress sorted. I dreaded going into a bridal shop as I had heard so many horror stories about girls being trussed up like a turkey in too small a size dress and then being coerced into parting with silly money. I was also freaking at the thought of someone seeing my wobbly bits whilst wedging me into a dress. I am that person who has to do a little shimmy dance behind a towel at the beach or in a changing room. I am just not comfortable with it.

I was plucking up the courage to visit a shop when I was told of a dressmaker called Audrey who lived in the local area who had saved another ladies wedding by making three bridesmaid dresses and a wedding dress in just three weeks. I thought it sounded too good to be true but thought I would give the lady a call. To say she was welcoming was an understatement, she was awesome! Anyone who answers the phone with a mouthful of jaffa cakes is good to me. Audrey took a look at the dress I bought, got me to pop it on and then came up with a solution to end my dress woes. No, it did not involve burning it or sticking me in a horrendous corset, instead she suggested altering it and adding some extras.  I felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders and I could have shouted from the rooftops.  I just wish I had gone to her in the first place and not worried so much. If you are getting married and reading this, don’t believe everything you read or hear, you will find something that works for you. I know it can feel a bit daunting but it can be done.

Leave a Reply

