A stroke of luck?

The theme that seems to be running through the wedding is that of a woody one. As the bottom tier of the wedding cake will be pretty mahoosive, I was concerned that a normal wedding cake board would be a little on the flimsy side. I spotted that a few weddings on Pinterest which had used lovely pieces of tree trunk for their wedding cake base and thought it would be cool idea. I shopped around on the net for pre made ones but to be honest I just couldn’t justify paying stupid amounts of money for them. So I have been on the look out for chopped up tree every time we drive or walk somewhere. I was starting to think that I would need to send Mister B out singing ‘I’m a lumberjack and I’m ok’ with his chopper in his hand but then I spotted a nick chunk of tree in my father’s backyard. We managed to save it from being chopped up for his log burner and it was brought swiftly home. Mister B soon whipped his chainsaw out and it was then sliced in three lovely pieces.

Preparing to slice

Mister B is a lumberjack

Mister B is a lumberjack

He then sanded the wood and added some varnish to seal it. It is not completely round but this will enable us to decorate the base further. We plan on using one of the wedding cake, one for the cheese cake and one for some other stuff we have up our sleeve. I think Mister B did rather a decent job of saving this from the burner don’t you?

All Sanded

All Sanded

Not too shabby?

Leave a Reply

